top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnelise Henry

Your Health is an Investment, not an Expense

Anyone who knows me knows how passionate I am about healthy living, and all aspects of it- mental health, physical health, exercise, healthy eating, hydrating, etc. It is ALL so important and they all work together hand in hand to bring about the best version of you that there possibly can be.


I work at Orangetheory Fitness and I am an independent consultant with the #1 health and wellness brand in the world- Arbonne. A good chunk of my day is spent selling these two brands to people. Not because I want to make money, but because I wholeheartedly believe in the products and what they are capable of doing for other people. So many people come into the studio or message me, wanting to change their current situation. Their health is lacking and they feel terrible- no energy, no strength, overweight, groggy, poor digestion, headaches, and overall are uncomfortable in their own skin. I tell them how amazing the products and brands that I use are and how they have changed my wellness. They get so excited to begin changing their own life. They are so thrilled to finally feel better in their own skin. They are so ready to finally be able to show up more for their kids and their needs. They are SO excited to FINALLY be the person that God created them to be!


Then, they ask how much it costs. I understand why they ask, because I would do the same thing. You see something at the store you like, and before putting it in your cart you check the price tag. Pretty much everyone I know works very hard for their money, so they want to feel good about putting it in someone else's hands.

I tell them the price, and the majority of the time they say it's too expensive. All of a sudden, they decide that they can't commit to themselves because they deem that their health and well-being is no longer worth it.


I understand why. I struggled with this too. When I first started on my health and wellness journey I wouldn't pay for ANYTHING. I worked out with free workout videos I found on YouTube in my parent's garage in brutal Eastern North Carolina summer humidity, while using protein powder that my Mom was buying for me. Yes, I was a poor college student, but I probably could have afforded to pay $10 a month for Planet Fitness to save my joints some impact on that concrete garage floor.


My senior year of college, it finally reached a point where I could not even stomach low-quality protein powder or any supplements. I knew they were good for me to use, but low quality products did more harm than good. I looked honestly at my bank statement and saw where my money was going. I decided to give up a good amount of my Starbucks and clothes shopping so that I could fuel my body properly. In just a few short days, I felt better and I realized this simple truth- My health was not an inconvenience or expense. It was a monthly investment that was completely worth it.


It is a beautiful thing when people come to my class and decide that they are worth it. That they are worth the monthly investment to feel their very best. What people sometimes don't realize is that an investment in your health and wellness is also an investment in those who love and care about you. When you feel good, when you feel confident, when you feel energized, when you feel like your best possible self- you are able to be there and give your best to those who count on you every single day. So, take the leap. Look at your bank statement and make the sacrifice, because you are 110% worth it.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page