top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnelise Henry

How to Build the Perfect Smoothie

If you know me, you know I love smoothies- especially in the warm weather. I typically stray away from them in the winter just because I'd rather have a big bowl of warm oatmeal instead. However, now that the weather is warm a smoothie has been the first thing I have wanted once I finish my morning workout.

In college, breakfast was something that I LOVED but also secretly struggled with. I've always naturally had a big appetite in the morning, so I always wanted something to eat before class. As much as I wanted to head to Chick-Fil-A for some chicken minis or grab a sandwich and latte at Starbucks, I knew that it wasn't going to be what was best for my health or set my day up for success. Every time I ate something like that, I was feeling gross by the time lunch rolled around.


Smoothies pretty much changed the game for me and I never get tired of them. Their nutrient density and cheap price are what keep me coming back. In fact, I read an entire book pretty much all about smoothies. All of my smoothie tips I learned Kelly LeVeque's book Body Love (10/10, highly recommend). Kelly is the smoothie queen, smoothie extraordinaire, and teaches you all of the nutritional benefits of starting your day with a smoothie as well as what should go into every smoothie for optimal health benefits.


The Fab Four Rule. All of Kelly's smoothies follow this simple rule to help make sure you are getting all of the great vitamins, minerals, and nutrients your body needs in the morning. This rule not only can be applied to smoothies, but every meal throughout your day! Protein, fat, fiber, and leafy greens. That's the template. Learn it, love it, live it. It keeps you full, it balances your blood sugar, and it keeps those gut buddies happy.


1. Protein. I, of course, will recommend Arbonne protein until I am blue in the face. It is 100% vegan, cruelty free, soy free, dairy free, gluten free, and has no artificial additives or sweeteners. You can't get much better than that! It has the best ingredients, and also tastes AMAZING. However, I'm not here to push anything on anyone- so, just aim for at least 15 grams in your morning shake and try to pick something that's not filled with any artificial sweeteners, gums, or ingredients.


2. Fats. I'm sure you've heard it, but I'll say it again: Fat doesn't make you fat! Ever since being diagnosed with PCOS in January, I have been so adamant about prioritizing healthy fats into my diet. My favorite to use in a smoothie are ground flax seeds because not only do they have healthy fats, but they are full of fiber! Same with avocados- they check two out of the four boxes. Other healthy fats you can add are a tablespoon of coconut oil, almond butter, peanut butter, or MCT oil.


3. Fiber. Fiber has so many benefits, and studies have shown that adults eat so much less than what they should be eating from day to day. Eating the proper amount of fiber is great for maintaining bowel health, achieving a healthy weight, lowering cholesterol levels, AND has been proven by someone somewhere that it can help you live longer! YAY! Like I said before, I love using flax seeds as a two in one for fats and fiber, but other great options that I use are a handful of fresh fruit (berries, apples, bananas), chia seeds, avocados, or Arbonne's fiber boost powder.


4. Leafy Greens. I know we all freak out when we think about putting something we normally eat in a salad into our smoothie BUT YOU CAN'T EVEN TASTE IT. I promise. If you try to tell me you can taste the spinach in your smoothie, you're a liar. My favorite leafy greens are spinach and kale, but if you're adventurous you can go for some arugula. Pro tip: buy your spinach/kale in bulk and freeze it! It will last much longer, and helps thicken the consistency of your smoothie.


College me really liked how cheap smoothies were as well. I spend $50 on a bag of protein per month (divided by 30 servings, that's $1.60 per day), $3 on a bag of flax seeds that last the whole month, and probably $10-$15 on berries or greens that will last the whole month. If you do the math, that's like $3-$4 per smoothie! AKA way cheaper than a morning Starbucks run.


Annelise's Morning Smoothie Recipe:


  • 4-5 ice cubes

  • 1 cup of almond milk (any brand will do, I typically do organic Friendly Farms brand from Aldi)

  • 2 scoops of Arbonne protein (chocolate, vanilla, or marble cake)

  • 1 tbsp of ground flax seeds

  • 1 heaping handful of spinach

  • 1 handful of frozen mixed berry blend (I'm loving the blend I got recently from Lowe's Foods)

  • 1 scoop Arbonne vitamin & mineral whole foods boost (supports immunity and overall health)

  • 1 packet of Arbonne Digestion Plus (Probiotics and prebiotics to aid in a healthy gut)

  • Add water to your preference of thickness/consistency


May your mornings be filled with the Fab Four method and all the smoothie love. Happy blending!


Product Links:


My Arbonne Shop (Get ALL the discounts when you become my preferred client! Send me a message, and I can help get you started):


Digestion Plus:


Whole Food Vitamin and Mineral Boost:


Chocolate Protein:


Vanilla Protein:


Marble Cake Protein (LIMITED EDITION! Get it before it's gone!):


Arbonne Fiber Boost:


Lowe's Foods Frozen Berry Blend:


Kelly LeVeque's Body Love










13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page