top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnelise Henry

3 Ways to Add Extra Protein to Your Morning Oatmeal

Updated: Nov 7, 2019

I love oatmeal. It is probably one of my top three favorite foods, along with bananas and sweet potato fries. If you are an oatmeal lover like myself, you know that it is the perfect breakfast and fuels you for anything the day may throw at you. It is heart healthy and guaranteed to keep you full until lunch time.  

When I first started eating oatmeal, it was a part of my gluten-free grains reintroduction after completing a Whole30. I was unimpressed with the taste at first, but that was definitely because I was eating it plain. The next day, I tried to give oatmeal a shot again and decided I was going to put peanut butter, a banana, and some strawberries on top. I'm probably dramatic for saying that my world was rocked, but my world was rocked. I loved it. I ate it every day for I don't know how long. That is, until it started making me feel incredibly bloated throughout my day.

Ladies, we all know there is nothing worse than feeling bloated. Especially when you're me and have to wear a leotard in ballet class. I knew I had to get to the bottom of this, and it didn't take me long to figure out that I was consuming WAY too many carbs WAY too early in the day. 

Between the gluten-free grains, the two generous spoonfuls of peanut butter, and two servings of fruits...my body was reacting to this more than filling breakfast very negatively. Having discovered all of this, I still didn't want to give up my daily oatmeal. I began experimenting with different ways to exchange my carbs for some protein, and I had some pretty awesome success. Here are three ways you can increase the protein in your oatmeal and decrease the bloat:

Please note that all recipes below are compliant with a 1/2 cup serving of oatmeal. 

Egg Whites This is probably my absolute favorite way to add protein to my oats, and its so easy! Pour one serving of oatmeal into a microwave safe bowl. Add water so that there is a thin film of water above your oatmeal, and microwave for one minute and thirty seconds. Pour 1/4 to 1/2 cups of liquid egg whites into your now cooked oatmeal. Stir, and microwave for thirty seconds. Stir, and microwave for another thirty seconds. Top your oatmeal with a drizzle of honey, some fruit, or anything you'd like!


Protein Powder Adding protein powder to your oatmeal can really up the tastiness of your oatmeal without adding too many unnecessary carbs or sugars!Cook your oatmeal as stated above. Stir in 1/8 cup of protein powder Easy as that! Just know that you may need to add water as you stir in your protein powder to help get the perfect consistency.


Protein Nut Milk Adding protein nut milk to your oatmeal is guaranteed to give an extra sweetness to your morning breakfast. My favorite protein nut milk is the Orgain Organic Protein Almond Milk, with 10 grams of protein per cup! I'll link it to purchase for you below. Pour one serving of oatmeal into a microwave safe bowl. Add one cup of protein nut milk. Microwave for one minute and thirty seconds. Viola! You have a tasty, vanilla, protein filled bowl of oats. Top with some banana slices and you've got a real winner.

It took a lot of trial and error, but I'm pretty proud of my oatmeal adventures and discoveries. If you try any of these protein oatmeal hacks, please let me know on my favorite platforms, Instagram (@annelisethenry) and Pinterest (@annelise_taylor)!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page